TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING



Board of Commissioners Tuesday, January 10, 2023 at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations / during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

Commissioner Mike Calloway

Commissioner Johnny Turner

Commissioner Antwain Downs

President Drew Keahey

Vice President Rodney Hutchins

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson

Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

Commissioner Michelle Collum

ABSENT

Commissioner Dustin Morris Commissioner Ashley Peters

Others in attendance were: Mr. Dylan McIntosh, DOTD; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Administrative Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent, Tensas Basin Levee District.

Prayer

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

Motion made by Commissioner Downs, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of November 1, 2022 is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News Star.

Naomi Eppinette Drew Keahey
Secretary President

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve all bills approved by the claims committee for November 2022 and December 2022.

Naomi Eppinette Drew Keahey Secretary President

Requests

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Wilson and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the transfer of a campsite #WBS-5 from Betty Chop, Richard Vanlangendonck and Pamela Vanlangendonck to Brian Morein

Naomi Eppinette Drew Keahey Secretary President

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Harwell and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after Vice President Rodney Hutchins called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the transfer of a campsite #WBS-14 from David Ponthieu to Dylan Ponthieu and Danielle Ponthieu

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Wilson and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District did authorize the Tensas Basin Levee District to renew the contract with Attorney W. Michael Street for one year.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Turner, Seconded by Commissioner Calloway and passed unanimously, to enter into Executive Session to discuss personnel matters.

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously, to enter back into Regular Session.

President Drew Keahey advised no action was taken in Executive Session.

Presentations

Items for Discussion

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Downs and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize for the Tensas Basin Levee District to separate from the Southeast Arkansas Levee District.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President Agenda Item 7 has been extracted from the Agenda.

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve the Tensas Basin Levee District to separate from the Louisiana Department of Civil Service.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Levee Updates

Brandon Waggoner advised that Lee Lane Project construction is underway. He also advised we are waiting to receive the pumps for the Papermill project. Presentation of a video showing the Floodwall Cleaning progress on the Monroe Floodwall.

Financial Statements

Review Financial Statements

Public Comments

Mike Street thanked the Commissioners for extending his contract for another year.

Adjourn