# TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING



Board of Commissioners Tuesday, January 11, 2022 at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

# **MINUTES**

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations / during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

#### **Call to Order**

#### **Roll Call**

Mr. Drew Keahey, President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

**PRESENT** 

Commissioner Johnny Turner Commissioner Dustin Morris

Commissioner Ashlev Peters

Commissioner Antwain Downs

President Drew Keahey

Vice President Rodney Hutchins

Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

#### **ABSENT**

Commissioner Mike Calloway Commissioner Kenneth Wilson Commissioner Michelle Collum

Others in attendance were: Ms. Susan Douglas, DOTD; Mr. Dylan McIntosh, DOTD; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. John Stringer, Executive Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Assistant Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Jason McMillan, Levee District Police.

## **Prayer**

#### **Pledge of Allegiance**

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

# **Public Comment on Agenda Items**

# **Action**

Motion made by Commissioner Harwell, Seconded by Commissioner Peters and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

## **RESOLUTION**

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of November, 2021 is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The Richland Beacon News.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary

Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

## RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve all bills approved by the claims committee for November and December 2021.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Harwell and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

#### **RESOLUTION**

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby ratify the termination of the hunting lease with Frankie G Freeman for the 161.16 acres in Richland Parish.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

## Requests

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Turner and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

#### **RESOLUTION**

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does authorize the President and Secretary to advertise the hunting lease for 161.16 acres in Richland Parish.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED those bids shall be received up until 7:30 A. M., February 8, 2022 at the office of the Tensas Basin Levee District, P. O. Box 68, Rayville, La. 71269 and 708 Julia Street, Suite 101B, Courthouse, Rayville, La. and up until 9:30 A. M., February 8, 2022 at 505 District Drive, Monroe, La. 71202-6862, at which time bids shall be opened and read aloud.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Morris, Seconded by Commissioner Peters and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

## **RESOLUTION**

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize Mr. Drew Keahey, President to sign the addendum for the Denmon Engineering contract Supplement #8.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

## **Presentations**

# **Items for Discussion**

## **Update on Levee Projects**

Brandon Waggoner gave updates on Fema Levee projects. 2016 projects are 95% complete, 2018 projects are out to bid and 2020 projects are in review with Fema.

# **Financial Statements**

**Public Comment** 

Adjourn