TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING



Board of Commissioners Tuesday, March 08, 2022 at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations / during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Call to Order

Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

Commissioner Johnny Turner

Commissioner Dustin Morris

Commissioner Mike Calloway

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson

Commissioner Michelle Collum

Commissioner Antwain Downs

President Drew Keahey

Vice President Rodney Hutchins

Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

ABSENT

Commissioner Ashley Peters

Others in attendance were: Ms. Susan Douglas, DOTD; Mr. Dylan McIntosh, DOTD; Mr. Max Tullos, Corp of Engineer; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. John Stringer, Executive Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Assistant Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Jason McMillan, Levee District Police.

Prayer

Pledge of Allegiance

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

Motion made by Commissioner Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of February, 2022 is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The Richland Beacon News.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Hutchins and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve all bills approved by the claims committee for February 2022.

Motion made by Commissioner Morris, Seconded by Commissioner Downs and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the President Drew Keahey to sign the closing documents to purchase Ouachita Parish School Board property at Logtown School Rd.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Requests

Motion was made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Turner, and passed unanimously, to enter into Executive Session to discuss personnel.

Motion was made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Turner, and passed unanimously, to enter back into Regular Session.

Motion made by Commissioner Keahey, Seconded by Commissioner Wilson and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does appoint Brandon Waggoner as Executive Director following the retirement of John Stringer.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Presentations

Items for Discussion

Update on Levee Projects

Brandon Waggoner gave updates on Levee projects. Davis Lake Pump Station project is waiting for Fema and Lee Lane project hopefully will begin this summer.

Financial Statements

Public Comment

Susan Douglas announced they are nominating Brandon Waggoner for National Levee Safety Committee to develop the national guidelines.

Brandon Waggoner expresses appreciation for the promotion to Executive Director.

Drew Keahey announced that John Stringer will be retiring and the May 2022 will be his last board meeting.

Rodney Hutchins stated John Stringer the "King of the Levee Board" will be missed greatly.

Kenneth Wilson congratulated Brandon Waggoner and John Stringer.

Dick Zeagler also congratulated John Stringer for his service and Brandon Waggoner for his promotion.

Adjourn