

TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING

Board of Commissioners
Tuesday, January 14, 2025, at 9:30 AM
505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, the President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

President Drew Keahey Vice President Rodney Hutchins Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Johnny Turner, Sr.
Commissioner Mike Calloway
Commissioner Ashley Peters
Commissioner Antwain Downs
Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell
Commissioner Michelle Collum

ABSENT

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson Commissioner Dustin Morris

Others in attendance were Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent of Tensas Basin Levee District; Aundi Brown, Board Secretary of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney for Tensas Basin Levee District, Max Tullos USACE, Susan Douglas, Jordan Girtman, Human Resources Tensas Basin Levee District, Ash Mohammad, DOTD.

Prayer

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

1. Minutes of the November 2024 Meeting

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Harwell, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does at this moment declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of November 2024 is at this moment dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News-Star.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

2. Bills for November & December 2024

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, seconded by Commissioner Turner, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve paying of all bills & statements reviewed and approved by the financial committee for November & December 2024.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

3. Renewal of TBLD Attorney Contract

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Downs, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District hereby approves the renewal of Attorney Michael Street's contract for 2025.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

4. Award Contract for Permanent Floodwall Gap Closures

Motion made by Commissioner Turner, seconded by Commissioner Calloway, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit;

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby award the contract for the Permanent Floodwall Gap Closures to Amethyst Construction bid \$388,500.00.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

5. Temporary Floodwall Gap Prototype Change Order - Dixie Overland Construction

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, seconded by Commissioner Downs, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners agree to the change order with Dixie Overland Construction totaling \$11,891.39.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

6. Davis Lake Project Change Order-Ashton Construction

A motion was made by Commissioner Harwell, seconded by Vice President Hutchins, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Davis Lake Project Change order totaling \$24,107.51

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

7. Levee Infrastructure Upgrades - Security

A motion was made by Vice President Hutchins, seconded by Commissioner Calloway, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Davis Lake Project Change order totaling \$24,107.51

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

Requests

Presentations

Items for Discussion

8. TBLD Dive Team

Updates on Levee Projects

Financial Statements

9. Financial Statements were reviewed and discussed.

Public Comment

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 10:26 a.m.

Next Meeting February 11, 2025, 9:30