

TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING

Board of Commissioners Tuesday, October 10, 2023, at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, the President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

Commissioner Antwain Downs President Drew Keahey Vice President Rodney Hutchins Commissioner Dick Zeagler Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell Commissioner Ashley Peters Commissioner Michelle Collum

ABSENT

Commissioner Mike Calloway Commissioner Dustin Morris Commissioner Kenneth Wilson Commissioner Johnny Turner

Others in attendance were Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director, of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Administrative Director, of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Dylan McIntosh DOTD.

Prayer

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

1. Minutes of the September 2023 Meeting

Motion made by Commissioner Downs, Seconded by Commissioner Hutchins, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of Sept 12, 2023, is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News-Star.

Aundi Brown Secretary Drew Keahey President

2. Bills for September 2023

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, seconded by Commissioner Harwell, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve paying of all bills reviewed and approved by the financial committee for September 2023.

Aundi Brown Secretary

3. Approve Aundi Brown as Secretary of the Tensas Basin Levee District Board

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, seconded by Commissioner Peters, and passed unanimously by the Board of the Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby vote unanimously to name Aundi Brown the official Secretary of Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners this 10th day of October 2023.

Aundi Brown Secretary

4. Approve moving forward with the Davis Lake pump station project

Mr. Waggoner states that Caldwell Parish has refused to issue an electrical permit for the Davis Lake Pump Station upgrades. Due to the nature of this project and its funding source. Mr. Waggoner has asked that the board approve moving forward with the project without a permit. FEMA is currently reviewing the request for a permit that was submitted by Caldwell Parish.

A motion was made by Vice-President Hutchins, and seconded by Commissioner Zeagler, to move forward with the Davis Lake pump station project.

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve moving forward with the Davis Lake Pump Station Project in Caldwell Parish.

Aundi Brown Secretary

5. Approve Expanding the TBLD Drone Program

The TBLD Team is actively using drones to help with the maintenance, construction, and levee upkeep projects along the levee system. They request that the board authorize purchases to expand that program and allow our drone pilot to purchase updated equipment to help expand the drone program totaling \$25,000.00. A motion was made by Commissioner Zeagler & seconded by Commissioner Downs, to move forward with expanding the TBLD drone program.

President

Drew Keahey

President

Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve the expansion of the TBLD drone program.

Aundi Brown Secretary

6. Approve the Purchase of a Utility Trailer

TBLD maintenance team has requested the purchase of a utility trailer to convert to a mobile command center to be used on maintenance projects, job sites, and flood fights.

A motion was made by Vice-President Hutchins, and seconded by Commissioner Harwell, to approve the purchase of a utility trailer.

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve the purchase of a utility trailer to be used as a mobile command center.

Aundi Brown Secretary

6. Request Transfer of Campsite WBS-5 from E. David Morein (Executorship) Leasee Brian H. Morein desires to transfer the lease to Richard Barrett and Marsha Barrett.

A motion was made by Vice-President Hutchins, and seconded by Commissioner Harwell, to approve the transfer of campsite WBS-5.

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve the transfer of campsite WBS-5 to Richard & Marsha Barrett.

Aundi Brown Secretary

Public Comments

Presentations

Financial Statements

Financial Statements were reviewed and discussed.

Items for Discussion

TBLD will hold its annual ethics training after the November board meeting.

Levee Updates

The Lee Lane project is complete, rock job is underway.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 10:13 a.m.

Next Meeting November 14, 2023, 10:30 a.m.

Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey President