

# TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT

#### **REGULAR MEETING**

**Board of Commissioners** 

Tuesday, November 12, 2024, at 10:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

# **MINUTES**

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

#### Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, the President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

#### **PRESENT**

President Drew Keahey Vice President Rodney Hutchins Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Johnny Turner, Sr.

Commissioner Mike Calloway

Commissioner Ashley Peters

Commissioner Antwain Downs

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

Commissioner Michelle Collum

Commissioner Dustin Morris

## **ABSENT**

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson

Others in attendance were Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney for Tensas Basin Levee District, Max Tullos USACE. David Dupree DOTD, Jason McMillin, Justin Cromwell, Sonny Harrington, & Paul Harper of Tensas Basin Levee District Police Dept. & Family of Paul Harper.

## Prayer

 $President\ Drew\ Keahey\ opened\ the\ meeting\ with\ prayer, followed\ by\ the\ Pledge\ of\ Allegiance.$ 

## **Public Comment on Agenda Items**

Executive Director Brandon Waggoner and President Drew Keahey presented Police Officer Paul Harper with the Lifesaving Award for his efforts in saving the life of his neighbor's baby.

#### Action

## 1. Minutes of the October 2024 Meeting

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit

#### RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does at this moment declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of October 2024 is at this moment dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News-Star.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

## 2. Bills for October 2024

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, seconded by Commissioner Morris, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve paying of all bills & statements reviewed and approved by the financial committee for October 2024.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

3. Resolution Supporting Request of Attorney General Opinion Regarding Diversion Canal.

## RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE RESOLVED that on November 12, 2024, The Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners did vote to request an opinion via the TBLD council regarding the Diversion Canal maintenance issue. A motion was made by Vice President Hutchins, seconded by Commissioner Harwell, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

YEAS: Keahey, Calloway, Turner, Downs, Hutchins, Zeagler, Peters, Collum, Morris,

Nays: 0

Absent: Wilson

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey

Secretary President

4. Appropriate the following properties to provide the necessary ROW for 2020 PL 84-99 projects included in sites 1, 2, 11, 12, 16, & 22.

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Turner, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve the	
appropriation of the following properties to provide the necessary ROW for 2020 PL 84-99 projects included in sites 1, 2, 11, 12, 16, $\&$	
22.	
Aundi Brown	Drew Keahey
Secretary	President
5. Transfer Campsite SB-20 from Joe Daenen (deceased lease) and Bernadine Daenen (wife & Beneficiary) to Bernadine Daenen.	

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, seconded by Commissioner Zeagler, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

# RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners hereby agree to Transfer campsite SB-20 to Bernadine Daenen.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

6. Transfer Campsite BHB-15B from Paul K. Smith to Alayna P. Beard.

A motion was made by Commissioner Harwell, seconded by Vice President Hutchins, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Tensas Basin Levee District agrees to transfer campsite BHB-15B from Paul K Smith to Alayna P. Beard.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

Request

Presentations

**Financial Statements** 

7. Financial Statements were reviewed and discussed.

Items for Discussion

**Public Comment** 

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 10:46 a.m.

Next Meeting January 14, 2025, 9:30