

## TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING

Board of Commissioners Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

# MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

## Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, the President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

## PRESENT

President Drew Keahey Vice President Rodney Hutchins Commissioner Dick Zeagler Commissioner Dustin Morris Commissioner Johnny Turner, Sr. Commissioner Mike Calloway Commissioner Antwain Downs

## ABSENT

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson Commissioner Michelle Collum Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell Commissioner Ashley Peters

Others in attendance were Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Michael Street Attorney for Tensas Basin Levee District, Max Tullos USACE;

## Prayer

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **Public Comment on Agenda Items**

Action

## 1. Minutes of the July 2024 Meeting

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Calloway, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

## RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does at this moment declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of July 2, 2024, is at this moment dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News-Star.

Aundi Brown Secretary Drew Keahey President

#### 2. Bills for June 2024

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Morris, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve paying of all bills & statements reviewed and approved by the financial committee for June 2024.

Aundi Brown Secretary

#### 3. Award the Monroe Levee Resurfacing Project in Chauvin Area

Motion made by Commissioner Morris, Seconded by Commissioner Turner, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does authorize the award of the Monroe Levee Resurfacing Project at Chauvin to T & L Dirt work for \$496,290.00.

Aundi Brown Secretary

#### 4. Award the West Monroe Levee Resurfacing Project in Bawcomville Area

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby award the West Monroe Levee Resurfacing project at Bawcomville to T & L Dirtwork for \$425,585.00.

Aundi Brown Secretary

## 5. Award the contract for Temporary Floodwall Gap Closures Prototypes

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Downs, and passed unanimously by the Board of the Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners award the contract for the Temporary floodwall gap closure prototypes to Dixie Overland Constructions \$138,000.00

Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey President Aundi Brown Secretary

#### 6. Transfer Campsite SB-19 from Donald Paul to Shasta Floyd

A motion was made by Commissioner Morris seconded by Commissioner Calloway, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Tensas Basin Levee District does approve the transfer of campsite SB-19 from Donald Paul to Shasta Floyd.

Aundi Brown Secretary

#### 7. Open Bidding Process for 79.54 acre hunting lease in Morehouse Parish

A motion was made by Vice President Hutchins, seconded by Commissioner Zeagler, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

#### RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Tensas Basin Levee District does approve the opening of the bidding process for the 79.54 acres hunting lease in Morehouse Parish.

Aundi Brown Secretary

#### 8. Accept Bids for the property on Brown Rd. Min. Bid. \$48,600.00

Commissioner Turner made the motion, seconded by Commissioner Zeagler, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments. There were none, to wit.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve placing the Brown Rd. Property out for Bid with a starting Min. Bid of \$48,600.00

Aundi Brown Secretary

Public Comments Presentations Items for Discussion Financial Statements 14. Financial Statements were reviewed and discussed. Items for Discussion Levee Updates Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey President

Drew Keahey President Adjourn

Announcement: The Tensas Basin Levee District will hold an open meeting on Tuesday, August 13, 2024, to adopt the millage rate for 2024. Providing All Reassessment Documents have been submitted by the parishes within our District.

Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director Tensas Basin Levee District Monroe, LA 71202 318-323-1130

The meeting was adjourned at 10:19 a.m.

Next Meeting August 13, 2024, 9:30 am