

TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING

Board of Commissioners Tuesday, September 10, 2024, at 9:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

MINUTES

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

Roll Call

Mr. Drew Keahey, the President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

PRESENT

President Drew Keahey
Vice President Rodney Hutchins
Commissioner Dick Zeagler
Commissioner Johnny Turner, Sr.
Commissioner Mike Calloway
Commissioner Ashley Peters
Commissioner Antwain Downs

ABSENT

Commissioner Kenneth Wilson Commissioner Michelle Collum Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell Commissioner Dustin Morris

Others in attendance were Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Executive Director of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Operations Superintendent of Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney for Tensas Basin Levee District, Max Tullos USACE; Mohammad "Ash" Islam DOTD, Terry Deshotel.

Prayer

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comment on Agenda Items

Action

1. Minutes of the August 2024 Meeting

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Turner, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does at this moment declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of August 2024 is at this moment dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The News-Star.

Aundi Brown Secretary Drew Keahey President

2. Bills for August 2024

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, seconded by Commissioner Zeagler, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve paying of all bills & statements reviewed and approved by the financial committee for August 2024.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

3. Open Bids for 22 Acre Catahoula Parish Hunting Lease.

The Following bids were received.

Bo Loughman \$40.01 per acre,

Brandy Deshotel \$108.25 an acre,

Terry Deshotel \$27.00 per acre

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Vice President Hutchins, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District authorizes the lease of 22 acres in Catahoula Parish for \$108.25 per acre to Brandy Deshotel.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey Secretary President

4. East Columbia Water CEA

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Downs, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby agree to enter into a Cooperative Endeavor Agreement with East Columbia Water to purchase materials needed to run plumbing to the new TBLD facility on Logtown Rd.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

5. Modification of Capital Outlay Agreements

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Turner, and passed unanimously by the Board of the Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners agreed to modify the Capital Outlay agreements to include additional parishes within the District for projects.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

6. Appoint Arthur J. Gallagher as agent of record for TBLD

A motion was made by Commissioner Zeagler seconded by Commissioner Peters, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Tensas Basin Levee District does approve Listing Arthur J. Gallagher as our agent of record for the remainder of 2024.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

7. ALBL Resolution

A motion was made by Commissioner Calloway, seconded by Commissioner Downs , and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Tensas Basin Levee District approves a resolution supporting ALBL Efforts to be submitted to the CPRA Committee. The Board was polled the following votes submitted;

7 yeas, 0 nays, 4 absent

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey Secretary President

8. Contract Extension for Pohlman and Wilbanks

Vice President Hutchins made the motion, seconded by Commissioner Peters, and passed unanimously after polling the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments. There were none, to wit.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby extend the contract of Pohlman and Wilbanks on the New TBLD Facility to account for delays caused by East Columbia Water to secure proper pipes for the new facilities needs.

9. Campsite Lease JB-4A change the name on the lease from Robert Hathorn to Connie Hathorn.

A motion was made by Commissioner Zeagler, seconded by Commissioner Peters, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Tensas Basin Levee District does approve changing the name on the lease for campsite JB-4A from Rober Hathorn (deceased) to Connie Renee Hathorn (wife & beneficiary).

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

10. Transfer Campsite WBS-8 from Steven Pittman to Caleb Clark

A motion was made by Vice President Hutchins, seconded by Commissioner Downs, and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District after President Drew Keahey called for public comments, and there were none, to wit:

RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Board of Commissioners for the Tensas Basin Levee District does approve the transfer of campsite WBS-8 from Steven Pittman to Caleb Clark.

Aundi Brown Drew Keahey
Secretary President

Public Comments

Presentations

Items for Discussion

11. Diversion Canal

Financial Statements

14. Financial Statements were reviewed and discussed.

Items for Discussion

Levee Updates

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

Next Meeting October 8, 2024, 9:30 am