TBLD Hosts US Army Corps of Engineers

TBLD Executive Director Brandon Waggoner and staff hosted groups from the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Monroe and Vicksburg locations for a strategic informational meeting. Members of the TBLD staff covered operational procedures of the local levee system, and flood control structure maintenance and operations in the 8 parishes included in the TBLD district.

About the Levee District

The Tensas Basin Levee District was created by an Act of the Legislature in 1884 and is the oldest levee district in the state. The district includes all or part of eight parishes: Caldwell, Catahoula, Franklin, LaSalle, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland and West Carroll.

The Governing Board consists of eleven commissioners, one in each parish, an additional at-large member and two additional commissioners in Ouachita Parish.

Tensas Basin Levee District personnel operate and maintain flood control facilities, to include levees, pump stations and major drainage channels.