USACE / TBLD Levee Resurfacing Project

District Commander Col. Christopher Klein cuts the ribbon for the Ouachita River Levee Crown Resurfacing Project completion alongside project manager Craig Prestwood and Tensas Basin Levee District Executive Director Brandon Waggoner Nov. 21, 2023. The Bipartisan Infrastructure Law-funded project included placing 46,000 tons of gravel on the crowns of 45 miles of levees.

Original article can be found here.

About the Levee District

The Tensas Basin Levee District was created by an Act of the Legislature in 1884 and is the oldest levee district in the state. The district includes all or part of eight parishes: Caldwell, Catahoula, Franklin, LaSalle, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland and West Carroll.

The Governing Board consists of eleven commissioners, one in each parish, an additional at-large member and two additional commissioners in Ouachita Parish.

Tensas Basin Levee District personnel operate and maintain flood control facilities, to include levees, pump stations and major drainage channels.