West Monroe LA Fishing Pier

Pictured left to right: Representative Michael Echols, Senator Jay Morris, TBLD Executive Director Brandon Waggoner, Wallace Hardy, Karen Laban with The Downtown Revitalization Group, Secretary of Louisiana State Wildlife and Fisheries Madison Sheahan, Mayor Staci Mitchell, Brandon Welch WMWO Chamber of Commerce, Senator Stewart Cathey Jr., Project Contractor Damon Mayfield, Civil Engineer Lane Beaird.

About the Levee District

The Tensas Basin Levee District was created by an Act of the Legislature in 1884 and is the oldest levee district in the state. The district includes all or part of eight parishes: Caldwell, Catahoula, Franklin, LaSalle, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland and West Carroll.

The Governing Board consists of eleven commissioners, one in each parish, an additional at-large member and two additional commissioners in Ouachita Parish.

Tensas Basin Levee District personnel operate and maintain flood control facilities, to include levees, pump stations and major drainage channels.